Check-ins are a great way for you to manage and track usage at the venue level. Check-ins do not link to a specific space within your venue(s) but rather, they register a day of use at the venue and typically allow access to any common facilities (e.g. non-bookable hot desks, lounge area).

This article covers:

  • Setting your day rate
  • Creating a check-in 
  • Cancelling a check-in
  • Viewing historical check-in data 

Presence and check-ins

It is important to understand the relationship between presence and check-ins in Optix. You can learn more about this here.

Setting a day rate

Through plans, you can specify an allowance (number of days) that can be consumed by using the check in functionality. When no applicable plan allowance is available, check-ins will create a charge equal to the specified day rate for your venue. To set this rate:

  1. Click Settings from the left-hand menu, then Features 
  2. Click the More icon to the right of 'Check-ins'
  3. Click View settings
  4. Under 'Day rate pricing', click the venue's name
  5. Under 'Day rate', enter the rate you'd like to set then click Save

Creating a check-in

Check-ins are registered when users tap the 'Check in' button on the home screen of your workplace app. If users forget to do this, you can easily create a check-in on their behalf from within the dashboard. When check-ins are created by a venue manager, users will receive a push notification alerting them that they have been checked in.

  1. Click Dashboard from the left-hand menu
  2. Scroll to the 'Check-ins' section and click New Check-In
  3. Specify the user, date of the check-in (you can create them in the past) and venue (if applicable)
  4. Review the user's plan details (including how many check-ins they have remaining), then click Confirm
  5. The user you've checked in will appear, with a green checkmark in the corner of their avatar photo to indicate they've been successfully checked in

If a user is on a plan with 'Daily Check-ins' allowance, one day will be deducted off their plan. If the user is not on a plan with 'Daily Check-ins' allowance, they will be charged the venue's day rate.

Cancelling a check-in

By default, your users will be able to cancel their check-ins. If you would like this option to exist only for venue admins (e.g. venue admins will have to cancel check-ins on behalf of a user if necessary), you can edit the Check-in settings within your dashboard.

  1. Click Settings from the left-hand menu, then Features 
  2. Click the More icon to the right of 'Check-ins'
  3. Click View settings
  4. Next to 'Users are allowed to cancel check-ins', click the toggle to slide into the off position

If permitted, users will be able to cancel a check-in by again clicking the check-in icon on their home screen. To cancel a check-in on behalf of a user:

  1. Click Dashboard from the left-hand menu
  2. Scroll to the 'Check-Ins' section
  3. Click on the avatar of the user who's currently checked in
  4. Confirm that you'd like to cancel the user's check-in by clicking Cancel check-in
  5. The user's check-in will be reversed. If the check-in had been charged to the plan allowance, the day of use will be added back. If it had caused a charge, the charge will be reversed.

Viewing historical check-in data

In the users tab of the dashboard, you'll be able to review dates for which the user was present but didn't check in, dates for which the user checked in, and dates when the user wasn't registered as present in calendar form.

  1. Click Users from the left-hand menu
  2. Click on the user's name to open their side panel
  3. Select the Check-ins section
  4. On the calendar, see an overview for the entire month. Solid green circles indicate check-ins while empty green circles indicate the user was present but not checked in. 
  5. To view details for a particular date, select the date from the calendar. You will be able to see the name of the venue the user was checked into, what day/time the check-in was created, and who created the check-in (either the user or the name of the venue admin who checked the user in on their behalf)

Did this answer your question?